I just drove all the way across the US though a part of the country I had never seen before.

I just saw many friends, most of whom I hadn’t seen since I graduated in ’08.

I just turned around and started heading East again.

I just caught up on the many international development blogs I used to read so regularily.

I just read the news for the first time in months.

I just got my UK visa for my upcoming masters program.

And I just realized that my head is drowning in thoughts and my focus is temporarily gone. This blog usually helps me focus, but I’m struggling right now. Maybe because my life itself isn’t focused, as I jump back and forth between thoughts on development work and thoughts on America. I don’t really know where to start, but I’ve now got one week get back on the surface of the waves before I dive head first into another ocean.

(Photo: Vancouver Island, BC, Canada, September 2009)

