I slept through New Years for the second year in a row. I don’t mind too much; New Year’s Eve has never been my favorite holiday.

The evening is always so built up. It’s the one night of the year where everyone expects to have the most fantastic time partying until early in the morning. I guess I’ve just usually found it a bit disappointing.

It’s New Years Day that I really enjoy. It’s New Years Day when I like to take the time to reflect on both the past year and the coming one.

2009 was a whirlwind for me. I spent more time outside of the States and fewer nights in any one location than ever before. I needed extra pages added to my passport. I worked on a variety of different technology projects in three eastern Africa countries. I became more serious about outdoor rock climbing. I started this blog. I connected with people who have since become significant figures in my life.

But reflecting on the past year is about more than what was done. More importantly, I think, is who I have become and who I want to be. More aware? (I think so.) More laid back? (Debatable.) More confident? (Is that possible?)

2010 will inevitably bring new opportunities and adventures. My personal challenge is to dream of not only what can be done, but how can I improve myself in the process.

So here is my New Year’s challenge to everyone: Take a minute to reflect. What 3 words would you choose to describe yourself? What 3 words would your friends choose to describe you? What 3 words do you want to choose to describe yourself?

Let’s make these 3 answers match.

Wishing you a 2010 filled with endless opportunities.

(Photo: Vancouver Island, September, 2009.)

