Do you see any snow in the picture above? In the sky? On the building tops?

No? Because neither do I.

And yet, due to overwhelming snow and cold, all of the channels between the UK and the rest of mainland Europe have been closed.

I had a ticket on the Eurostar train from London to Brussels, but the track apparently cannot handle the ice. On Friday night, five trains were stuck in the tunnel for over 12 hours. And so all the trains have been cancelled for an unknown length of time.

I tried the buses, but the ferries aren’t running either due to adverse weather conditions.

I talked to people that said they had been bumped from their flights.

So, I’m stuck. As a side note, I also don’t have the proper stamp to be here. The immigration officer who stamped my passport upon arrival did not believe me that I would be exiting the UK in the next month (who carries print outs of their travel itinerary anymore? I certainly don’t. Not when functional printers are hard to find in Africa and I can get all of my tickets with my passport and confirmation codes). So, she refused to give me a 6-month entry stamp and instead gave me a 24-hour transit visa, accompanied by the warning that if I don’t get myself out of the UK in 24 hours I’ll be in trouble. Perfect.

Tomorrow, I try to get out of here again. I’ll try the trains, which are mostly likely to be swamped by people like myself who had their trains cancelled yesterday and today. I booked myself a flight to Belgium, but apparently the Belgian airport has been closed today due to snow. So who knows. I’m doing my best to make this travel hiccup an adventure, but after the past week on the road, all I want to do is arrive in my final destination for the holidays and relax.

Who knew that the UK and Belgium – two countries located in northern Europe – would erupt into mayhem when the cold and snow arrived.

