Thanksgiving almost passed without me noticing. If not for emails from my friends from home, I would have never skipped a step.

This is the first Thanksgiving that I nearly forgot. Even when living abroad during last year’s Thanksgiving, I still celebrated with turkey, stuffing, and an old school Superbowl game. It’s my favorite American holiday. Family. Food. Football. More family. More food. More football. No gifts. No decorated shopping malls trying to make it all commercialized (that starts the day after). Just 3 F’s, and an open invitation to tell people that you are thankful for them. We don’t do that enough in our lives.

And yet I almost forgot it this year. I’m a bit disappointed in myself for that. This is the second Thanksgiving in a row that I’ve spent away from home, and I don’t want to do it again next year. I love being in Africa and adapting to the environment, but I’m still American and there’s still parts of the States that I miss. Next year, it doesn’t matter where I am, I’m going home for Thanksgiving.

So, in honor of missing the holiday yesterday, I found a turkey and took a picture. Enjoy.

