IMG_2973 (2)

I am currently working with Global Cycle Solutions, a new company developed by a team at MIT. My job is focused on technology, but as the company is just starting I have also learned an incredible amount about business. I’ve been keeping a list of do’s and dont’s for starting a company, but then I came across this instead.

Peter Haas, who started AIDG, really nails it with his rules for starting an international service organization. Some choice lines are:

“Before you start something new ask yourself: ‘What can I do to help something that is already here become more effective?’ “

“Don’t be a swiss army knife. Do one or two things well and be selective about program expansion.”

“The worst service you can provide a community is to start a program that is good and then force it to close suddenly because you put yourself at financial risk.”

Read it all here.

