Six sunrises

Five bus rides

Two mini-bus rides

Four hitched rides

Seven flat tires

Two dynamite explosions

And I have finally arrived in Nairobi. Here is a short photo documentary of my travels:

Shashemene, 5am

Shashemene, 5am

Buses stations in Ethiopia open at 5am. Buses leave at 6am. Seats are not assigned. People line up outside the bus station at 4:30am so they can literally run to get a seat. Hence the six sunrises that I saw during my travels.

I wrote two previous posts on my travels in Southern Ethiopia (see restoring my faith in humanity and the mursi) so I will jump ahead to Kenya now.

Moyale is on the border of both Kenya and Ethiopia. In Ethiopia, there are shops and restaurants and hotels. In Kenya, there is a dirt road and two dirty hotels. We stayed on the Kenya side. The only transportation south is a hitched ride on the top of large trucks called Lorries. If you’re lucky, your Lorrie carries grain so you can sit somewhat comfortably. If you’re unlucky, your Lorrie carries cattle and you must spend your entire 36 hour journey balancing on the metal frame of the truck. We were lucky – we had grain in our Lorrie, and a comedic conglomeration of passengers.

The road is not known for its quality. But the desert scenery is breathtaking.

The road from Moyale to Marsabit

The road from Moyale to Marsabit

Tire blowout.

Tire blowout.

The dusty road.

The dusty road.

Just before reaching the paved road and civilization lies the village of Archer’s Post. The village is nothing more than a bunch of bland wooden shacks, but it teeming with colorfully decorated Samburu and Turkana people who dislike photos. Thus, I learned the art of the hip shot so to avoid being accosted by people asking for money. At the goat market (a collection of people selling goats under a tree), I struck up a conversation with a local Samburu man. He wore seven metal bracelets, meaning that he has killed seven men during his life. He told me about some of the local customs and traditions, and he advocated for sneaking photos of people without them knowing. Here’s what I got:

A Samburu woman in the desert.

A Samburu woman in the desert.

Just a regular street corner in Archer's Post.

Just a regular street corner in Archer's Post.

More pictures to come, so keep a look out for them.

