There is only one road that goes south from Addis. On a map, I once saw this road labeled simply as the “Road to Kenya” with an arrow pointing downwards. Eventually, this road leads to South Africa.

Daily traffic on the only road going south

Daily traffic on the only road going south

Today, I will start my journey on this road. I will stop in the Omo region of Ethiopia, where the local tribes have saucer-sized lip and ear piercings. I will journey over the worst section of this road in Northern Kenya. I am not sure when I will have internet. I am not sure what transportation I will use. In about two weeks, I will reach my destination for the second leg of my journey: Nairobi, Kenya. 

I feel happy and settled in Addis, but I know that I must move on. The purpose of this trip is exploration. I could easily stay here for a year, but that would defeat the purpose of the journey. I will make new friends, I will find a new network, I will start on a new project. There are only wide, open spaces in front of me. Time to hit the road.

